Novel

I read “The Maze Runner” by James Dashner. It’s about a teenage boy named Thomas that is delivered in a box to a small, all male society that is surrounded by giant walls. Behind those walls are the workings of a very large and complex maze. The boys are all teenagers, some fairly young while others are almost into their 20s. None of them know why or how they are in this place that they call “The Glade” or anything else from their past lives. However, they make it work. Everyone has a job, there is a very strict system and set of rules. Weird things begin to happen that force the boys out of their routine and what has become their sense of normalcy, including the arrival of a strange girl who is somehow connected to Thomas. They are all forced to find a way out of the maze, or die. About 20 of them, including the girl, eventually make their way out. The book closes with them thinking that they are all safe, and will get to return to a somewhat normal life, but the last two pages reveal something that the boys don’t know: that that is far from happening.

I had bought this book series a while ago, but never came to reading it (as I do with most books I purchase nowadays). I was cleaning out my car two weeks ago and came across the book. I picked it up, and out of boredom and curiosity opened to the first page and began to read. It was interesting enough, from the start anyways. It dragged a bit in the middle, there was a lot of exciting build up and no interesting follow through till the end of the novel. However, I’m pretty sure I was reading more complex books at age 11. It wasn’t due to the topic or the events occurring in the novel, but rather the language and the wording. It was all very simple, and not as stimulating as I would’ve preferred. It would’ve been much better if it had been a bit more of a challenging read, with some flowery language thrown in there. The story itself was intriguing, complex, clever, and carefully arranged, but the words themselves bored me at times. It is definitely a book made for teens, but I feel like the author is either terrible at constructing in depth sentences, or thinks teenagers can’t handle big words. I also feel as if he thinks cuss words will corrupt innocent, teen minds, because not a single expletive was used in the entire novel. There were too many adrenaline pumping, near death moments for not a single bad word to be uttered. It just made the book seem more sugar coated and simplistic and unrealistic and “child-like”. If I had been in any situation half as terrifying as the ones presented to the characters, I would be screaming cuss words non-stop.

Overall, interesting book. Could’ve used better language. I probably wouldn’t recommend it to anyone over the age of 14, unless they’re just kind of stupid or don’t like reading anything too complex. But, I really liked the female character, Teresa. She was described as being very beautiful, and the description for her was definitely the most complex and intriguing. And just the way I pictured her in my head, very angelic looking. I saw the movie a while ago as well, and from what I can remember, I think I enjoyed that more. I wish I had chosen a different book, something that contained expletives and other fancy words.

Leave a Reply

